• soft machine The Soft Machine (gold vinyl LP, £27.50)

    label: sundazed

    The Soft Machine, co-produced by Chas Chandler and Tom Wilson, announced the band’s arrival on the international scene in fine style. With an unusual three-man lineup comprised of Kevin Ayers on bass and vocals, Robert Wyatt on drums and vocals, and Mike Ratledge on keyboards, the album was recorded in New York, while the band was touring North America with the Jimi Hendrix Experience. In contrast to the extended pieces that would later dominate the Soft Machine’s repertoire, the album focuses on shorter, more concise songs that nonetheless provide plenty of room for the musicians to demonstrate their varied abilities. Track List: Hope for Happiness / Joy of a Toy / Hope for Happiness (Reprise) / Why Am I So Short? / So Boot If at All / A Certain Kind / Save Yourself / Priscilla / Lullabye Letter / We Did It Again / Plus Belle Qu’une Poubelle / Why Are We Sleeping? / Box 25/4 Lid

    Add to order