• 12 ensemble Resurrection (LP, £15.75)

    The 12 ensemble continue their remarkable rise on the international classical music scene with their stunning debut album ‘Resurrection’.  Featuring a new work from Bryce Dessner, the acclaimed composer and guitarist of the band ‘The National’, a commission from boundary-pushing UK composer Kate Whitley and works by Lutosławski and Woolrich, ‘Resurrection’ is a powerful collection of four works for strings that reflect the ensemble’s spirit of bringing new energy and exploration to established sounds and ideas.  Always performing without a conductor, the ensemble have developed a reputation across Europe as one of the UK’s leading string orchestras.  This debut recording highlights the group’s commitment to intimate music-making that lives and breathes, performed with dazzling energy and an astonishing sound, all based on the principle of putting the music in charge.

    Add to order