• sofrito - tropical discotheque  (double LP, £21.75)

    Strut reissue the debut compilation from SOFRITO, one of the UK’s leading tropical music collectives. Comprising DJs Hugo Mendez and Frankie Francis alongside The Mighty Crime Minister, Sofrito has consistently combined the serious vinyl hunter’s ear for amazing records with the know-how to throw a great party, rocking dancefloors worldwide since their inception in 2005 with a mixture of vintage tropical grooves and exclusive dubplate edits. From their legendary Tropical Warehouse events in East London to the clubs and bars of Brooklyn, from beach parties in Greece to festivals and clubs across Europe including WOMAD and the Worldwide Festival, Sofrito has now become an international proposition. Over the years the club has also attracted a string of A-list guests for live performances including Manu Dibango, Poets Of Rhythm, Souljazz Orchestra and Quantic. The club’s graphics by artist Lewis Heriz have become a vital part of its identity, with each event accompanied by unique hand-drawn poster art, each now a classic in its own right. Running alongside their events, their Sofrito Specials 12” imprint has made available exclusive edits of impossible-to-find rarities aimed strictly at the dancefloor. For their debut compilation, Sofrito bring together 15 dynamite tropical grooves old and new ranging from raw cumbia, heavy Congolese soukous, bassline calypso and cosmic highlife. Highlights include an exclusive cumbia by Quantic, ‘Cumbia Mochilla’, a new edit of a rare Victor Uwaifo disco cut and firing Carnival jams from old-timers Roaring Lion and Mighty Shadow. This isn’t about ‘world music’, this is some of the best dance music ever made. TRACKLISTING: 1. Banda Los Hijos De La Nina Luz – Quiero Amanacer 2. Les Ya Toupas Du Zaire – Je Ne Bois Pas Beaucoup 3. Frente Cumbiero - Pitchito 4. Fair Nick Stars – Arrete Mal Parle 5. Kyerematen Stars – Maye Obi Den 6. Victor Uwaifo – Ohue (Frankie Francis & Simbad Edit) 7. Adolfo Echeverria – Sabroso Bacalao 8. El Timba – Descarga Bontempi 9. Mighty Shadow – Dat Soca Boat 10. Dany Play – Fa’Waka 11. Safohene Djeni – Mahu Wo Asie 12. Ti Celeste – Popilation Basse-Terrienne Du Abois 13. Quantic Y Su Conjunto Los Miticos Del Ritmo – Cumbia De Mochilla 14. Roaring Lion – Carnival Long Ago 15. Gnonnas Pedro – Yiri Yiri Boum

    Add to order