• ethan gold Songs from a Toxic Apartment (CD, £7.50)

    “Remarkable polished pop..with echoes of Badly Drawn Boy..almost disintegrating Syd-Barrett-isms” - The Sunday Times. Like an underbelly of Leonard Cohen’s ‘Songs From a Room’, Gold’s debut is a tactile journey through the toxicity of memory. Where Justin Vernon escaped to the woods, Ethan Gold escaped deeper into the city, recording and mixing alone in a collapsing building in the wastelands of Los Angeles. Gold, native son of San Francisco, grew up in the hangover that followed free love - son of Beat-adjunct writer Herbert Gold - and was raised with various step-families by his mother Melissa, who was tragically killed in a helicopter crash with the legendary rock promoter Bill Graham. For Ethan, the escape was always into his songs and the dreams where he hears them. After producing and arranging Elvis Perkins’ blog-hyped ‘Ash Wednesday’, moonlighting as bass player in his brother Ari’s folk party band the Honey Brothers with Entourage star Adrian Grenier on drums, and scoring his twin’s feature ‘Adventures of Power’, Ethan quietly self-released his debut in America to underground acclaim: “Emotions delivered with an unfiltered, glaring legibility” - Pitchfork; “The most interesting record I’ve listened to in the past 5 years.” - Rock N Roll Experience; “Haunted” - Glide Magazine; “Amazing” - Revolt. He then began rolling out a series of videos from the album showcasing his visceral approach. While working on his next film score in New York, Ethan fell in a freak accident at a warehouse, sustaining a significant head injury. He lost the ability to speak and to do complex tasks like sound engineering and found himself returning to his childhood influences and writing even more. During this ‘rebirth’, Ethan dug up an album of synth-strumental paintings, completed a collection from live covers of some of his favourite songs, and finished the score to the upcoming ‘The Song of Sway Lake’, with his songs being sung by John Grant and the Staves. While we wait for his new music and his return to live performing, we are proud to be introducing Ethan’s sweet & raw subterranea to the hearts of Europe. Tracklist: 1) (intro) 2) Why Don’t You Sleep? 3) Royal Flush 4) Are We Recording? 5) They Turned Away 6) Poison 7) That (reprise) 8) Nonstop 9) Tonight 10) Come On Beat It Down 11) I.C.U 12 On Edge (celestial porch)

    Add to order