• blackdown These Moments (LP, £10.95)

    label: Keysound Recordings

    Keysound Recordings presents a weightless album from label boss Blackdown. “Those Moments” is his first solo LP, features fellow “Margins Music” contributors Trim, Dusk & Farrah and, like the imprint’s Rollage sub series, is centred at 130 bpm. Each of the tracks is a distillation of a fleeting moment. The tracks and LP itself are short and constrained, relying on only voices, synths and sub bass. The album came about in a quick intense burst and many of the tracks represent snapshots of brief instances – a bitter-sweet moment of inflection, a moment of positivity, digital over stimulation, awe, loss, intensity, anger, nostalgia, regret, honesty, relief and joy. “I’d had a tough 6 months...” explains Blackdown. “I’d had to hold it together and not lose my nerve. Early on in the months I’d so nearly had a massive, positive life change but... it slipped out of my grasp. I was so focused on holding it together, I couldn’t allow myself to really write music. Then, when things resolved themselves, and I’d figured out this new weightless way of working, ‘Those Moments’ just came flooding out. I’d heard other musicians talk about this – but that had never happened to me.” Recent releases from Rinse FM’s Blackdown include a contribution to the #SaveFabric CD, three 4 track 12”s of the new Rollage sub series (“WDYM?!”, “Keysound Sessions Anthem” and the “C-Troit” EP) and a remix of Jamakabi & Terror Danjah’s “Juicy Patty.” TRACKLIST: Tracklist: 1. Abundance, 2. Familiar sound ft Dusk & Farrah, 3. Heavy ft Dusk, 4. Envision (Emergence), 5. Those Moments, 6. Who Does It (KSA) ft Trim, 7. Hackney Vandal Patrol, 8. Halcyon Skies

    Add to order