• marmozets Knowing What You Know Now (CD, £8.95)

    label: Roadrunner

    It’s been three years since MARMOZETS first broke through with their debut album, but now they add to their growing momentum with their long-awaited second album. Recorded with the legendary producer GIL NORTON (Foo Fighters, Pixies), it’s the band’s most ambitious and accomplished offering to date. To coincide with the album’s launch, MARMOZETS have shared another taster of the album in the shape of the new track ‘HABITS’. It’s a danceable riff-fest which sees Becca adopt a dreamy, soaring vocal style – and is, explains Sam, “about certain people having certain habits that aren’t good, and getting very carried away.” While ‘Play’, the pounding ‘New Religion’, the pulse-quickening ‘Major System Error’ and the spiky ‘Lost In Translation’ find MARMOZETS’ embracing a new intensity within their controlled chaos, the band have the courage to explore fresh territory too. A stark and sombre standout is ‘Me & You’ – its sparse arrangement befitting the raw sentiment of the song. It was inspired by the death of the MacIntyres’ beloved grandmother, who was always an enthusiastic supporter of the band. Another departure comes with ‘Run With The Rhythm’, an epic head rush of a track that was chosen to close the album because of its message of encouragement. Consisting of two sets of siblings, the MacIntyres (Becca, Sam and drummer Josh) and the Bottomleys (lead guitarist Jack and bassist Will), MARMOZETS built a cult underground following with a series of independently released EPs. Their reputation exploded after they signed to Roadrunner Records and released their debut album ‘The Weird and Wonderful Marmozets’. Praised by Q, Noisey, NME and The Guardian, it also won Kerrang!’s coveted Album of the Year award. “The Brit alt-rockers return and they’re sounding absolutely massive.” – NME. “Marmozets are back with new music and it’s reminded us why they’re one of the most exciting bands this country has to offer.” – Kerrang! “The UK rock mantle is Marmozets’ to take.” – DIY. Tracklisting: 01. Play 02. Habits 03. Meant To Be 04. Major System Error 05. Insomnia 06. Lost In Translation 07. Start Again 08. Like A Battery 09. New Religion 10. Me & You 11. Suffocation 12. Run With The Rhythm

    Add to order