• bette smith Jetlagger (LP, £13.95)

    Born and raised in Bedford-Stuyvesant, Brooklyn, Bette Smith reconnected with her musical roots in Memphis and Mississippi – and fulfilled a promise to her late brother in the process. Recording her debut full-length album in Mississippi brought her to the roots of the gospel she sang in the church and the soul music she heard on the block on hot summer nights growing up on the corner of Nostrand and Fulton. “The south came to me and grabbed me and pulled me down there. The southern migration came up and got me. My neighbours in Bed-Stuy influenced me,” she says. Jimbo Mathus (Squirrel Nut Zippers) produced the album at Water Valley’s Dial Back Sound.'Jetlagger' is a mixture of originals and interpretations of tracks by the likes of Famous L. Renfroe, Isaac Hayes and The Staples Singers. Tracklisting 

1. I Will Feed You
2. Jetlagger
3. I Found Love
4. Flying Sweet Angel of Joy
5. Manchild
6. Durty Hustlin'
7. Shackle & Chain
8. Moaning Bench
9. Do Your Thing
10. City in the Sky. + download.

    Add to order