• mogwai Every Country's Sun (white vinyl double LP + CD + 12" boxed set, £43.50)

    label: Rock Action

    Mogwai return with their ninth studio album, recorded with renowned producer Dave Fridmann (Mercury Rev, The Flaming Lips, Mogwai’s ‘Come On Die Young’ and 'Rock Action') at his Tarbox Road Studios in New York State.  ‘Every Country’s Sun’, named after a friend’s lack of knowledge in how the universe works - takes two decades of Mogwai’s signature contrasting sounds and distils it, beautifully, into 56 concise minutes of gracious elegance, hymnal trance-rock and transcendental euphoria. It will definitely appeal to fans of the band and will gain many new ones along the way.  The band performed their album in its entirety for the first time in a triumphant surprise show at 2017’s Primavera Sound, Barcelona. In a live review, The Quietus wrote: “... the material bounds with purpose and spirit, depth and intelligence, quiet triumph and (particularly toward the end) emphatic weight, promising a record of cleverly-woven instrumentalism that slays and sates in remarkable unison.”  Deluxe box set contains ‘Every Country’s Sun’ on CD and heavyweight double gatefold vinyl, plus a heavyweight 12” of album demos and photographic prints by Antony Crook taken while the band were recording in January 2017. The 12” features six demos of tracks from the album. Vinyl format includes digital download code.

    Add to order