• grayson gilmour Otherness (LP, £18.95)

    label: flying nun

    It's been a steady evolution, starting at 16 with his first solo CD-Rs, to forming So So Modern at 20, to scoring his first feature film at 26. His solo releases caught the welcoming ears of critics over the years, and eventually the attention of the iconic Flying Nun Records, who made him the first signing of their 2010 relaunch. Since entering the film world, Grayson has received awards for ‘Best Score’ at the 2012 NZ Film Awards for The Most Fun You Can Have Dying, and ‘Best Original Music’ for Consent at the 2015 APRA Silver Scrolls. So So Modern, after seemingly endless tours around the globe, have achieved an underground cult status for their unique electronic / post-punk sound, intense live shows, and at times ridiculous costumes. After a series of international dates in 2013 the band has been put on indefinite hiatus. While undertaking his Masters in Composition at the NZSM, Gg’s latest solo release, Infinite Life! Was nominated for ‘Best Alternative Album’ at the 2014 NZ Music Awards, and the critics' choice Taite Music Prize. Grayson is currently preparing to release and tour his new album, Otherness, amongst new film scores and a project with the RBMA. “Infinite Life!… sees Gilmour continue his rise as one of the most exciting musicians currently active in the country.” – Max Walker, Under The Radar. “Gilmour’s sense of the little things that matter in music make most of his contemporaries sound like amateurs!” – Gary Steel, Metro. “He makes places and characters come to life, breaking down the facade of modern pop music and presenting a more realistic approach to song writing that completely exposes itself to the listener.” – Nick Fulton, Einstein Music Journal. “Who else writes tunes as achingly beautiful as these? Not many people around here, that’s for sure!” – Nick Bollinger, The Listener. Track List: 1. Hundred Waters 2. Blow Back 3. Twenty-One Tattoo 4. Better Life 5. Be A Beacon 6. Otherness 7. Sundowning 8. Slow Hope 9. Artery 10. Don’t Let It Get You

    Add to order