• 14 iced bears 14 Iced Bears (coloured vinyl double LP, £20.75)

    label: Optic Nerve

    Limited edition. Gatefold sleeve, printed inners. Original album plus 12 track bonus LP including all tracks from their first three EPs. The 14 Iced Bears were formed within a vibrant indie scene in Brighton in 1985 by Robert Sekula and drummer Nick Emery, with a punky, DIY pop ethic that held melody as key and technical expertise as less of an issue. They wrote catchy pop songs, recorded with a ramshackle charm that reflected their passion for sixties garage and psychedelia. Inspired by bands like The Byrds and Velvet Underground this set them apart from their C86 contemporaries. They were spotted at their first gig by ex-Television Personalities bassist Mark Flunder, he decided that he wanted to put out a 14 Iced Bears single on the fledgling Frank Records, and Inside was released in late 1986. On hearing it, legendary BBC 1 Radio 1 DJ John Peel booked them in for a session. His enthusiasm was evident. He made it one of his sessions of the year and praised each track in turn after playing it. Balloon Song was featured in the session and the single version which fronted the bands second single, The Importance of Being Frank EP further consolidated their following. The band toured England and Europe and the press was ecstatic. The late 80s revival of classic guitar-based pop was kind to the ‘Bears, and Sekula’s talent at penning catchy, twisted melodies earned them a coveted spot as one of the best of the lot. A third single sealed the deal, the raucous Come Get Me on the seminal indie label Sarah Records. The band went on the release their self-titled debut album in 1988; it was a masterpiece of psychedelic pop that turned a lot of heads with it’s ambition and skilled songcraft. The album betrayed the influence of sixties psychedelia on the group and became a hit on US college radio. Tracklist: side 1 TAKE IT 2 HOLLAND 3 TRAIN SONG 4 MOTHS 5 HAY FEVER side 2 6 FLORENCE 7 SPANGLE 8 DUST REMAINS 9 CUT 10 SURFACER side 3 11 COME GET ME 12 SURE TO SEE 13 UNHAPPY DAYS 14 IF I SAID 15 MILES AWAY 16 BALLOON SONG side 4 17 TRAIN SONG(DIFFERENT VERSION) 18 LIE TO CHOOSE 19 LIKE A DOLPHIN 20 BLUE SUIT 21 CUT (DIFFERENT VERSION) 22 INSIDE

    Add to order