• honeyblood Babes Never Die (CD, £6.75)

    label: Fat Cat

    Honeyblood are back in formidable form, as the Glasgow two-piece - frontwoman Stina Tweeddale and drummer Cat Myers - release their second album, the emphatically titled ‘Babes Never Die’. The follow-up to their eponymous debut, ‘Honeyblood’ which arrived in 2014 as a surprise splash, crash-landing into many of the year’s most revered Best Of lists, with near-perfect score reviews from everyone from NME to DIY, and Mojo to Uncut. ‘Ready for The Magic’ is a remarkable introduction to Honeyblood 2.0. Both one of their most intense and most intensely catchy tracks to date. Its detuned doom riffage and disco-punk rhythms make space for a tornado of a chorus ode to “the explosive nature of infatuation”. The album was recorded with acclaimed producer James Dring (Jamie T, Gorillaz) during candle-burning sessions at London’s Fish Factory studios. “The title is my own mantra,” Stina says. “I think it’s something I tell myself every day. Indifference is a plague. Giving up and turning a blind eye will be the end of us. Never before has that been more true.” Tracklisting 

1. Intro 
2. Babes Never Die 
3. Ready For The Magic 
4. Sea Hearts 
5. Love Is A Disease 
6. Walking At Midnight 
7. Justine, Misery Queen 
8. Sister Wolf 
9. Hey, Stellar 
10. Cruel 
11. Gangs 
12. Outro

    Add to order