• keysound recordings presents certified connections  (CD, £4.75)

    label: Keysound Recordings

    Over a year since the foundation-laying “This is how we roll”, a cluster of the Keysound family members return with a 14 track compilation of exclusive new tracks. It is the 50th release on the label. The CD is shaped in an arc designed to reflect both the breadth and the flow of the music being made within the camp. Beginning with Logos’ beatless exercise in tension “Metropolis” it moves through dark percussive 130 bpm rollage from Parris, Dusk + Blackdown, Aphix, Caski and Etch. Grimey influences begin to emerge via Wen and the Sully remix of Balistiq Beats ft Riko, before an explosion of synths and colour from Murlo, DLVRY and E.m.m.a. engulf the scene. Finally the compilation curves back down into a more abstract plane with Facta, Epoch and emerging lyricist/producer Luke Benjamin. The title for the compilation was crowd-sourced from the producers themselves, kicking around different suggestions until something was borrowed from a cluster of LHF-inspired blog posts Blackdown had written. The title was “something representative of the things that link us but also separate us” went the reasoning. This spirit of how “Certified Connections” was selected seemingly reflects the strength of solidarity and the unity of purpose around these artists right now: working within a darker (but sometimes colourful), rolling (but sometimes arresting) and bassier (but not without subtleties) space. "Keysound is home for me, and listening through the compilation the doors are wide open to welcome edgy new talent to the family," said Wen. As well as contributing a track to “Certified Connections”, certain editions of the release will come with a special mixed version by one of the most exciting DJs from the camp and sometime Wen-collaborator, Parris, deploying his trademark blends and precision cuts. The release follows hot on the heels of Dusk + Blackdown’s vinyl double-pack of 130 based cuts “Back 2 Go FWD>>”, LV & Josh Idehen’s “Islands” album and Moleskin’s “Satis House” EP. TRACKLIST: 1. Logos - Metropolis, 2. Parris – Pressure, 3. Dusk + Blackdown - Wot Do You Mean?! (dub), 4. Aphix - Sin King, 5. Caski - Tunnel Music, 6. Etch - Champion Dancehall, 7. Wen - It's A lot, 8. Balistiq Beats ft. Riko - Rise The Machine (Yardman Riddim, Sully remix), 9. Murlo - Broken Arrow, 10. DLVRY – Guilt, 11. E.m.m.a. - Light Years, 12. Facta – Quince, 13. Epoch – Aerospace, 14. Luke Benjamin – Asha.

    Add to order