• book a trip 2: more psych pop sounds of capitol records  (24-track CD, £6.75)

    label: Now Sounds

    Once more, NOW SOUNDS raids the Capitol Records vaults in Hollywood for late-í60s Psychedelic Pop/Soft Pop obscurities and unearths a treasure trove of first-time-on-CD gems. Productions by the likes of MICHAEL LLOYD collide with arrangements by MORT GARSON and GENE PAGE and compositions by HARRY NILSSON and KIM FOWLEY, and performances by many legendary Wrecking Crew members, proving why Capitol Records was the undisputed leader of pop during this pivotal era. ALL original Capitol singles, circa 1966Ė1969, are sourced from ORIGINAL MASTER TAPES. Some are presented here in STEREO for the first time ever! Most tracks are FIRST TIME ON CD! The 24-page, full-colour booklet also includes rare, unpublished photos and extensive track-by-track liner notes that feature the participation of many original band members, arrangers, and producers. Mastered by Alan Brownstein FROM THE ORIGINAL MASTER TAPES! Produced and compiled by STEVE STANLEY. Track listing: 1. CATCH THE LOVE PARADE - The Staccatos 2. TIMES WILL BE HARD - The Tombstones 3. DONíT TAKE VERY MUCH TO SEE TOMORROW Ė The Laughing Wind 4. FOR MARYíS SAKE - These Vizitors 5. I CANíT GO ON - Chris And Craig 6. MASQUERADE - Jesse Lee Kindcaid 7. PRETTY DAISY - The Knack 8. OCTOBER COUNTRY - Raw Edge 9. GROOVY DAY - Ian Whitcomb 10. PORTOBELLO ROAD - Ellie Janov 11. FIRE ENGINE SKY - Michael Blodgett 12. WHEN DIANA PAINTS THE PICTURE - Robbi Curtice 13. TROLLEY CAR LINE - Timothy Clover 14. LITTLE TOY - The Unforscene 15. SKIP-A-LONG SAM - The Sugar Shoppe 16. SIDEWALK SKIPPER SONG - Sidewalk Skipper Band 17. MIDNIGHT SUN - The Pink Cloud 18. ALONE ALONE - James Flemming 19. HELLO LOVE - The Tuneful Trolley 20. SONG THE CITY SINGS - The New Kick 21. DONíT LEAVE ME - Griffin 22. THAT BLUEBIRD OF SUMMER - The Surf Symphony 23. GOOD TO BE AROUND - The Laughing Wind 24. THE END - Ian Whitcomb

    Add to order