• glen campbell See You There (LP, £22.75)

    label: surfdog

    Glen Campbell, who just celebrated his 77th birthday, offers stunning new takes of his career-defining hits, including ‘Gentle On My Mind’ and ‘Rhinestone Cowboy’. During the sessions for 2011’s acclaimed ‘Ghost On The Canvas’, Campbell – for the first time – laid down new vocals for many of his classic hits. Producers Dave Kaplan and Dave Darling later took Glen‘s vocals and reinterpreted the songs to convey an intimacy that is at once chilling, uplifting, haunting and spine-tingling all at the same time, all of this much to Campbell‘s delight. It also includes ‘There’s No Me…Without You,’ which Campbell wrote with Julian Raymond and the previously unreleased ‘Waiting On The Coming Of My Lord’. Shortly after the Ghost sessions concluded, Campbell was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease. He was honoured with a star-studded tribute at the Country Music Awards in 2011 and a Lifetime Achievement Award at the GRAMMY Awards in 2012. “This record is a more intimate and unique take on many of Glen‘s most popular songs as well as some other gems. The producers took the magic of his voice and showcased it with tastefully chosen instrumentation, in a whole new and different way for Glen.” says Kim Campbell, Glen’s wife. Campbell titled the album ‘See You There’, an expression that’s been a trademark of his for decades, but takes on an added poignancy at this stage of his life and career – as do the songs that take us back to the early days of his career. Track listing: Hey Little One; Wichita Lineman; Gentle On My Mind; Postcard From Paris; Waiting On The Coming Of My Lord; What I Wouldn’t Give; Galveston; By The Time I Get To Phoenix; There’s No Me…Without You; True Grit; Rhinestone Cowboy; Waiting On The Coming Of My Lord (Feat. Jose Hernandez & Mariachi Del Sol De Mexico) – Bonus Tracks: Postcard From Paris; What I Wouldn’t Give

    Add to order