• sufis Inventions (LP, £14.25)

    label: Ample Play

    THE SUFIS release Inventions on Ample Play. It follows debut album ‘The Sufis’, released in June 2012, which was greeted with huge acclaim by critics and radio presenters alike. It was both a Rough Trade Shops Album Of The Week & BBC 6Music’s Album Of The Day. Inventions sees them stepping into an even more ambitious, psychedelic pop direction. The group comprises Calvin Laporte and Evan Smith with help from some of their Nashville Tennessee friends. They record using old school equipment and effects some of which they have invented themselves, to create this summer slab of vinyl: “I wanted to write concise pop songs, each with a unique and particular quality,” says Calvin Laporte. Tracklisting: Side 1 1. All Of The Time 2. Most Peculiar Happening Cat 3. She Said To Me 4. I’ll Come To See You 5. Turn Around 6. The End Side 2 1. Alone 2. No Expression 3. Gotta Get Away 4. Wallflower 5. Nothing More To Say 6. Washed Away. ‘What they do next should create some seismic and significant rumbles’ The Quietus. ‘How do you explain a teenage trio from dusty Nashville who are invigorating the surrealist whimsy of Syd Barrett era Pink Floyd? Inventive and charming’ The Times ‘One name on every psych-lover’s lips at the moment is that of The Sufis. These are meticulously constructed lysergic pop songs’ Shindig!

    Add to order