• monochrome set Volume, Contrast, Brilliance... Sessions & Singles Vol. 1 (blue vinyl LP, £14.50)

    label: Optic Nerve

    Recorded between 1979 & 1981 and originally released in 1983 this hugely rewarding record acted as a round up of the group's career to date and was of immeasurable value to fans. It's aged well, too. Comprised of A and B sides from their Rough Trade released singles plus extracts from sessions for Radio 1, Capital Radio and EMI Records, this LP contains unique versions of such classic tracks as 'The Jet Set Junta' and 'He's Frank (Slight Return)'. Oddities and jocular moments run through the album, including John Peel introducing 'Fat Fun' and thinking aloud that those Monochrome boys might be having a pop at him. The fact that it includes a wish list of the band's best songs to this point in their career is another reason to recommend it. This 1983 compilation is a front-to-back joy, fast, restless and perfectly sequenced. It plays like a cohesive album. Unavailable on CD and vinyl for many years, this reissue contains 2 later period bonus tracks 'Reach For Your Gun' and 'Sweet Chariots' that were included on the Cherry Red Records CD release. TRACKLISTING: 01. EINE SYMPHONIE DES GRAUENS 02. THE JET SET JUNTA 03. LOVE ZOMBIES 04. SILICON CARNE 05. THE RULING CLASS 06. VIVA DEATH ROW 07. THE MAN WITH THE BLACK MOUSTACHE 08. HE'S FRANK (SLIGHT RETURN) 09. FUN FOR ALL OF THE FAMILY 10. LESTER LEAPS IN 11. ICI LES ENFANTS 12. FAT RUN 13. ALPHAVILLE 14. AVANTI (TEN DON'TS FOR HONEYMOONERS) 15. REACH FOR YOUR GUN 16. SWEET CHARIOTS

    Add to order