• l a n d Night Within (LP, £15.75)

    label: important

    LP pressed in an edition of 500. Guest contributions include David Sylvian, Daniel O'Sullivan (Miracle and Ulver), Duke Garwood and many others with the two creators taking a directorial role. The album was sculpted in Reykjavik by Ben Frost, enhanced by his signature aural physicality and visceral sub bass. The album is a vast collision of sound, from free brass and woodwind to "geometric" bowed cymbals and metallic percussion. But more than simply music, the multidisciplinary L A N D draw on and evoke a wide range of art forms. They describe this work as "approaching an apocalyptic noir narrative" and 'Night Within', despite its slate visual appeal which recalls the grey paintings of Gerhard Richter, thematically points towards a world occupied by the early postmodern detective stories of Paul Auster and the urban neon dislocation of Taxi Driver with its existential protagonist roaming the city alone late at night. CD & LP packaged in deluxe first edition letterpressed jackets. featured artist: Daniel Lea: Baritone, Bowed Cymbals, Sound Design, Percussion Matthew Waters: Baritone, Guitar, Piano, Bass, Percussion David Sylvian: Vocal Paul Cook: Drums & Percussion Matthew Cousins: Bass & Percussion Tom Farmer: Double Bass Dom Garwood: Clarinet Duke Garwood: Saxophone & Alto Clarinet Jamie McCarthy: Violin Daniel O'Sullivan: Piano Alexander Tucker: Bowed Mandolin Richard Turner: Trumpet track listing: 1/City Of Glass 2/Stillman 3/Into The Blue 4/Nighthawks 5/Cosmopolis 6/Hotel Room 7/Cold Desire

    Add to order